London-based post-punk three-piece deep tan releases riotous new single 'beginners’ krav maga' and announces UK Tour!!!​​​​​​​
Deep Tan just released their first new material of 2022 with brilliantly dark single 'beginners’ krav maga'.
The band explains on the meaning behind the new song:
“'beginners’ krav maga' is a response to the idea that womxn should take Self Defense classes in order to feel safe on the street at night. Womxn shouldn’t have to. Yet it seems like every day there’s a new Sarah Everard, Sabina Nessa or Aisling Murphy. Educate your sons, brothers, guy friends. male violence against womxn is an epidemic and it needs to stop, so we made a pop song to talk about it.”
2021 was a breakthrough year for deep tan with the release of Debut EP “creeping speedwells” and stripped down single 'tamu’s yiffing refuge', which was produced by Dan Carey of legendary label Speedy Wunderground.
Over the last two years they have been featured in publications such as NME, DIY, Clash, The Quietus, So Young, Notion, Dork (only to mention a few) and got plays on BBC 6Music, SiriusXM, KEXP, Amazing Radio/ Amazing Radio USA and BBC Wales. Radio X Steve Lamacq also made the band his BBC 6Music Spotlight Artist in May 2021.
If you want to see them live, see all live dates below.
Tour Dates:
20 May - Newcastle - Xerox
21 May - Edinburgh - The Great Eastern Festival
22 May - Sheffield - Record Junkee 24 May - Nottingham - Rough Trade
27 May - Leeds - Headrow House
28 May - Manchester - YES (Basement) (Mood Swings)
29 May - Birmingham - Hare & Hounds
1 Jun - London - Venue MOT
You can buy tickets here!
Back to Top